Pub of the Year Presentations 2016

Prince of Wales (Shrewsbury) 2016

Overall winner for 2016 is the Prince of Wales, Shrewsbury

Having also won the Marches competition, the Prince had the accolade of appearing in the West Midlands Regional final (the 2016 winner eventually being the Earl Grey Inn, Leek).

Pictured is Vicki with the new certificate, joining the 2015 winners certificate on their wall of honour.


The two runners-up (and also joint Market Town Pubs of the Year) were:

Oswestry Awards May2016 005

Black Lion, Oswestry –  Presentation of the award for Branch Pub of the Year runners up and also the joint award for the Branch Market Town Pub of the Year by Dave Roll to Claire and Terry. Well deserved, awarded for the hard work and dedication in running a true community pub appreciated by loyal locals and not so locals alike. Congratulations.


Black Bear, Whitchurch – Similarly awarded certificates for Branch Pub of the Year runner up and joint Market Town Pub of the Year. Here’s what the Bear said:

“The Bear team are sooooo…. chuffed to receive these amazing awards for our ale.
Thanks Shrewsbury and West Shropshire Camra and all the clever brewers.”

Rural Pub of the Year:

Mytton Arms, Habberley 2016

Mytton Arms, Habberley





Green Dragon, Little Stretton 2016


(Runners up:   the Crown, Clunton and the Green Dragon, Little Stretton – pictured left)



Club of the Year:

Oswestry Awards May2016 002 (2)

Oswestry Cricket Club – SAWS Club of the Year 2016 presentation by Dave Roll to Jane and Hugh on a busy night with a hall full on a Quiz Night and a youth match on the pitch outside.  A well deserved award to a true community asset  that also does a fine pint of local ale!


Comrades Club, Ellesmere

(Runner up: the Comrades Sports & Social Club, Ellesmere)





Honourable mentions go to the Coach & Horses and the Three Fishes, runners up in the Shrewsbury pub category, and the Six Bells, Bishop’s Castle, runners up in the Market Town pub category.

White Lion (Ash Magna) 1997


See here for the full list of winners and also winners from previous years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.